Still here! Really!

Neglecting my blog, you say?  Whatever do you mean?

In my defence, last week got completely derailed by a very sick bunny and then -on  the same night – kid 1 getting sick as well.  Kid 1 is fine now and as for bunny…we’ll see.  He’s responding well to his medication but there’s still some question about what all of this ultimately means that I don’t want to think about.

On the upside, before any of this happened I had already hit word count for last week.  And I’m really glad about that since I didn’t get any writing done on Friday (looking after sick kid 1 all day), or Saturday (trying to keep no-longer-sick kid entertained all day since he still wasn’t allowed to be ‘around people’) or Sunday (trying to catch up on all of the little things that didn’t get done on Friday or Saturday).  All of that meant that I felt like I started this week somewhat behind the eight ball.

Word count this week – Sunday aside – is, however, going remarkably well.  Yesterday’s quota was 2000 words and I managed 6373, which is a record for me on this project.  Today’s was 1000 (since I was out for most of the morning) and I did 2800.  That means that I’m more than halfway into my quota for the week already.  Not that I’m going to stop or relax about it or anything, but it’s always nice to have productive days.  I’m both excited and nervous about the next sections as it is one of the few parts where I’ll be completely branching into new territory – the next two sections (at least) are not even loosely based on MS1 or MS2.  Even if the previous sections have been completely rewritten, I usually have the ‘original’ beside me, even as a very rough guide.  These next parts are completely original and not stemming from either…I’m stopping myself from getting started on them this afternoon only because I think another night of mulling them over in my head would probably do me some good.

(That being said, I might very well start in on it today.)

7 thoughts on “Still here! Really!

  1. This is very interesting – what’s this project that has you write 2000 words a day? Is it towards something or is it a general goal, to keep your brain in action? I’m just curious, if you’re able to say.

    Also, I get it when life takes over – that is exactly what happened with me last week. I have one son, only one (& it’s his & my early life my blog’s about), but last week was DUTY BOUND! But I don’t reckon you need to apologise. As one reader once said to me “real life before cyberlife”. N.

  2. Hi, thanks for the comment! In short, I’m trying to complete a manuscript before kid 2 is born – due at the end of March. I attended a conference in the fall, received some positive professional interest but am now required to do a rewrite in a completely new genre. At the moment I’m attempting to get as much of a rough first draft as possible down before I go into a few months of sleep deprivation (hence my daily quotas). Then, once things have settled out a bit, I’ll at least have the raw material to edit and massage and pretty up. 🙂

    Your blog sounds interesting (and I LOVE the title of it!) I’ll have to go check it out.

  3. I know all about life derailing you (see my sunday), but I’m glad for the update and to know that it’s going well. I was getting ready to bug, but you beat me to it. 🙂

    For me, I love original sections when rewriting (might explain tossing the whole manuscript that time) because I feel more free in those times to write whatever comes, instead of needing to stick with something. I hope you have a lot of fun with those parts. 🙂

    Hope Bun’s going to be okay.

    • Well I’m having a ridiculously productive morning with it, so perhaps I am having fun with those parts, so far. Hoping it keeps up for the rest of the day at least. 🙂

      I hope he’ll be okay too. The meds are working well, like I said, it’s just whether or not there will be any after-effects from this particular illness that we can’t solve.

  4. You’re my heroine! I don’t even want to tell you how far I’ve gotten on my book or how long that took me… It will get done though–promise! In fact, if you can get that much done while nursing your kid back to health, that inspires me and reminds me that it’s just a question of time management and getting it done. Look forward to hearing more about your book and its progress!

    • See, and I told my husband last night that your blog was one of the most inspiration I had ever stumbled across! Thank you so much for your nice words…I’m looking forward to hearing more about your adventures as well!

Leave a Comment

