Obstacle course…

So in the universe’s neverending quest to ensure that I never get this manuscript done, now I’VE been sick. I did manage to get a bit of work done yesterday but not as much as I’d like by any means.

I had a fairly unusual (for me) writing experience last week:  I found myself in a coffeeshop with a notebook in hand and some time to kill so I started making notes and I’m happy to say that I managed to figure quite a bit of what is going to happen ‘beyond the wall’. I was calling it thus because I could see a rather formidable wall looming in the distance – and not only was I not sure how I was going to deal with the wall itself, I also had no idea what I was going to find beyond it. Admittedly, I was still pretty discouraged when I actually hit said wall, but figuring out what happens after definitely helped me start finding the weak spots. A few days of bashing away at it (and being too ill to do much actual writing) means that I’ve now crumbled it some. I’m still not 100% sure how everything is going to tie together but I’m just trying to keep the words “first draft” in the forefront of my mind and remember that even if I have to write “segue this later” here and there, that’s fine for this stage.

Also, this book is looking like it is going to be very long – there’s going to have to be a lot of cutting come editing time. I was told to try to keep it at around 100K…my hope was to finish at about 120 and then do some cutting. Well, I’m sitting at 90K right now and it’s um, not going to be done in 10K.  I have some doubt it will be done in 30K. But again, first draft…right?

(Oh and I still have no idea how it’s going to actually end.  I’ve come to accept the fact that it is going to have to be part of a duet or trilogy but I have to find a good spot to finish where the story will still be self-contained enough).

And, as if I didn’t have enough distractions, a friend’s manuscript is sitting in a box on my couch at this very moment as well…

 

11 thoughts on “Obstacle course…

  1. I would just like to say I admire your perserverance. I definitely put time into thinking about my book, but that’s about all I can do right now, very little writing is occurring. I think it’s amazing that you’ve prioritized your writing so that it’s still happening.

  2. Thank you so much! Part of it is definitely circumstance though…Kid 1 is in school a couple of days a week and I’m not working an outside job at the moment. When Kid 1 was an infant (like you have) I was writing much less – not at all during the sleep deprivation stage and then, eventually, only when he napped. Once he got a bit older and napping less and wanting my attention more (plus my going back to work) it got much more difficult to prioritize. That’s part of why I’m putting such a big push on it now…once baby 2 arrives, I know I’ll be in a non-writing phase for a bit while I’m getting no sleep!

  3. Ha! It’s a once a week indulgence. Typically I have my computer with me but this time I had to take kid 1 to school first and didn’t feel like lugging it with me, so I had the notebook instead.

    And don’t worry, no one has ever accused me of being too nice to my characters…

  4. You know, I’d apologize about that box, but I think I still have your email around here from when I told you the book was done. I was afraid you were going to come through my computer and mug me for it. 🙂 Of course, that would have netted me a hug too, but still…

    • You know, Julie, what I mostly expected from you here was a crack about how nice I am to my characters. 😉

      And you know I love that there’s that box on my couch…I just need a chance to crack it open!

      • I’ve made that crack already, relatively recently too 🙂 I’m waiting a little while before I do it again. You might prove me wrong. Not bloody likely, but as a writer, I have to believe that anything is possible. I think it’s in the job description they gave me.

    • Your nested comments is probably set to three levels max. You can change that if you want. I think I found it somewhere in settings. Mine’s at 5 currently, as I recall.

      And being nice to your characters tends to make stories boring and bland. Can’t have that (I’m sorry Fay, really, but I have to do these things to you)

Leave a Comment

