Wait, what?

A quick update…my Muse, after being so very cooperative for 24 hours, decided to go hide in the forest (or wherever it is she goes. I’m starting to think it might be a bar) again, but nonetheless I sat my butt down and got in a couple of hours of writing tonight. In that time I managed to knock those nine editing sections down to two and then I called it a night. The two sections left are brutal continuity checks. Originally I thought that might mean going a few pages back in each case but, as I worked through the rest of the piece, I began to realize that they more likely need to be checked throughout. Meaning that the best way to check them would be at final read-through of this draft.

Which means I’m at final read-through of this draft.

What?

This won’t be a line-by-line, let’s manage to drag this out for another month process. I plan to do this read-through fast, so that everything is processed quickly and I won’t be forgetting details by the time certain events come up again. As such, I should be done the final read-through some time next week, especially if Baby D decides to take the occasional nap.

I haven’t done any more work on the short piece, (though it seems I’ll have time to work on it soon!) but I did read the first page of it out to my writing group last week and received positive reviews…always nice on an unpolished piece. I know the next section, but I can already feel it trying to swell into a novel on me, so I’m going to do my best to hold it back. Especially since when Draft 2 does come back I really don’t want to be enmeshed in an unrelated novel.

So yes, final read-through starts tomorrow I suppose. Unbelievable.

2 thoughts on “Wait, what?

Leave a Comment

